Earth Care Awards  

The Earth Care Awards have been announced for the year 2016 and the application process has started. The 7th edition of the awards is open to SAARC countries :  Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka recognizing the climate change mitigation and adaptation actions  by communities, entrepreneurs, innovators, large scale industries, and urban local bodies


The ECA is now into its 7th edition of its successful journey that started in 2008. Since then the ECA has gained wide spread recognition amongst the industries, NGOs, CBOs, and government institutes. The Earth Care Awards provides a platform to foster regional cooperation and support in terms of knowledge and technology transfer in the SAARC region. The award recognizes, verifies, and promotes the replicable initiatives and interventions on the greenhouse gasses (GHG) emission reduction, natural resource conservation, energy efficiency improvement, development and promotion of innovative eco-friendly alternatives across various sectors of development.

The awards are given for the following categories:
Community based mitigation and adaptation in water resources, agriculture, forestry and other land use Innovations for climate protection, GHG mitigation in Large Enterprises and Leadership in Urban Climate Action.

This is a joint initiative between JSW & the Times of India. The awards are technically supported by the Centre for Environment Education (CEE), and our outreach partner is Technology, Education, Research and Rehabilitation for the Environment (TEERE).

For more information, visit:

For more details on application process contact:

ECA Secretariat

Centre for Environment Education, Thaltej Tekra, Ahmedabad-380054 Gujarat, India.

Phone: +91-79-26844820, 26858002